Propose candidates for the Bertebos Prize 2020

The Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry has the privilege of inviting prominent persons and organisations to propose candidates for the Bertebos Prize 2020. Bertebos prizewinners have carried out research of distinguished quality and practical use within the area of ecology and agriculture.

This year we invite you to nominate candidates in the field of transboundary animal diseases

Transboundary animal diseases (TAD) are highly contagious epidemic diseases with the capacity for rapid spread, irrespective of national borders. They can cause high disease and mortality rates in animals, with serious socio-economic and sometimes public health consequences. Global trade, land encroachment, altered farming practices and climate change contribute to outbreaks of TAD, some transmissible to humans. High-impact animal diseases such as foot-and-mouth disease, peste des petits ruminants, African swine fever, while not directly affecting human health, clearly affect food and nutrition security as well as livestock production and trade. To the list should also be added potentially pandemic “emerging diseases”, such as highly pathogenic avian influenza.

There are examples of successful eradication programs focusing on TAD’s. In June 2011, after an intense campaign over several decades, FAO and OIE formally declared rinderpest (“cattle plague”) eradicated.

TAD constitute a constant threat to animal health and welfare and to the livelihoods of livestock farmers in low-income countries and the economy of the livestock sector as a whole. Long-term efforts to prevent and eradicate TAD must rest on a solid scientific basis combined with good insights into the local socio-economic conditions for successful outcomes in different parts of the world.

Successful candidates for the Bertebos Prize should have contributed to significant research and development within the field of transboundary animal diseases, with special emphasis on prevention and eradication.

The Prize

consists of SEK 400,000 (approx. EUR 37,000) and a diploma. The prize will be presented at the Commemorative Meeting of the Academy on 28 January 2020 in the City Hall of Stockholm.

KSLA organizes communicative activities together with the prize winner and in dialogue with the Bertebos Foundation. The activities should preferably take place the same year as the prize was awarded and should involve invited researchers and industry representatives. The type of activity may vary depending on the prize winner’s scientific orientation.

Proposal for a prizewinner

including justification, CV and references of up to five scientific papers elucidating the research, should be submitted by 31 October 2019

to: Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry (KSLA)
The Standing Prize and Award Committee
Att. Keiko Blesserholt
P. O. Box 6806
SE-113 86 Stockholm
or E-mail

Download invitation to nominate, incl. nomination form, to the right. Nomination form in word-format:
Nomination form – The Academy’s Bertebos Prize 2020

You are also welcome to send your proposal as an ordinary e-mail message to as long as you make sure that all the details listed in the form are included as well as the required documents mentioned above.

Inquiries concerning the Prize and the nomination can be forwarded by telephone or e-mail to
Björn Sundell ( or Göran Dalin (

Further information about the Bertebos Prize, previous prizewinners and the Bertebos Conference →

Photo: Alexas_Fotos/Pixabay.