Wallenberg Professorships

KSLA’s international guest professorships – The Wallenberg Professorships

The Marianne and Marcus Wallenberg Foundation has decided to fund four one-year guest professorships of the highest international class during the period 2021–2024.

Now it’s time to suggest new Professors, by March 1, 2022, at the latest.

The UN Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development, as well as national environmental objectives, define goals for the long-term development of a sustainable bioeconomy. The green sector has a major role to play in meeting several of the global challenges identified in the Agenda 2030, such as climate change and loss of biodiversity.

In this context, we define the green sector as including issues relating to agriculture, horticulture, veterinary medicine, forestry, hunting, reindeer husbandry, fishing and aquaculture. Consumption related to the green sector is included, but not the industrial link in the production chain.

Excellent scientific research and innovation are essential in order to achieve the global and national goals related to the green sector and the sustainable use of natural resources. The Wallenberg Professorship programme is one piece of the puzzle. Visiting Wallenberg professors will work at Swedish universities for one academic year with a focus on strengthening a sustainable Swedish green sector through scientific research. The following research areas provide examples of issues that may be addressed by the visiting professors:

  • How new agricultural crops, methods and products could mitigate goal conflicts and promote synergies between sustainable development goals.
  • How forestry could contribute to a circular economy and climate targets, while preserving biodiversity and ecosystem services.
  • Identifying opportunities for increased sustainable aquaculture while preserving wild stocks.
  • The role of governance in the sustainable development of the green sector.

The Wallenberg professors are expected to:

  • Add unique scientific competence to the host department within the green sector.
  • Address a specific issue of high societal importance during her/his visit.
  • Combine scientific excellence with a multidisciplinary way of working.
  • In collaboration with the hosts, contribute to building up lasting international collaboration and to strategic development of the host department and university.

The visiting professors are expected to spend a full academic year at the host institution. The total visit of nine months may be spread over a maximum of two years, if so agreed with KSLA. During the time in Sweden, the professor and the host department are expected to arrange a public seminar to highlight their research and its societal impact.

Universities may suggest visiting professors by submitting two-page pre-proposals by 1st of March 2022.

The preparation of received proposals takes place in a scientific evaluation panel appointed by the Academy. The final decision is made by KSLA’s board.

See Announcement, including Criteria and Terms/Conditions.

More information:
Academy Secretary Eva Pettersson, eva.pettersson@ksla.se, +46 8 5454 7702.


Earlier KSLA-Wallenberg Professors


Ian A. Fleming – the first holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.

Dan Binkley – the second holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.

Dagmar Haase – the third holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.

Barry A. Costa-Pierce – the forth holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.

Scott Creel – the fifth holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.

Tobias Kuemmerle – the sixth holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.

Christine Watson – the seventh holder of the KSLA Wallenberg professorship.


The series of Wallenberg professorships began in 2014 with the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation funding a number of one-year guest professorships of the highest international class. The series was a gift to KSLA on the Academy’s 200th anniversary.

På svenska.

Inbjudan att föreslå mottagare av Anders Elofsons Medalj 2023

Förslaget ska vara akademien tillhanda senast 1 oktober 2022. Utdelning sker vid akademiens högtidssammankomst den 28 januari 2023.

Årets viltmatdag

19/8: Vad kan lite vilt göra på tallriken och var är det vilda i svensk livsmedelsstrategi diskuteras bland annat vid årets Viltmatdag där också…

En svensk växtnäringsstrategi som en del av den nationella livsmedelsstrategin

13/10: För ledamöter. Är det dags för en svensk växtnäringsstrategi som en del av den nationella livsmedelsstrategin för en mer robust livsmedelsförsörjning? Frågan diskuteras…

KSLAT 4-2022 Towards a new mindset for epidemic animal diseases

At the 2021 KSLA Bertebos seminar, international experts discussed animal disease prevention and control with a view to identifying key factors for future success.…